Celebrate Indigenous Peoples Day 2020

October 07, 2020

Image courtesy of MA Indigenous Legislative Agenda

It's time to recognize that celebrating the life of Christopher Columbus is the same as celebrating the erasure of Indigenous existence. There has been much movement around the country to replace Columbus Day with Indigenous Peoples' Day but more work remains to be done. We are excited to share some local and national events celebrating Indigenous Peoples and Indigenous Peoples Day. 
 

Events in Massachusetts 

sinking

Saturday, October 10, 2020 at 12 PM – 3 PM
SINKING COLUMBUS: Boston Marches for Indigenous Peoples Day

Tremont Street by Park Street Station (eastern end of Boston Common)

Rally and march on Saturday, October 10 2020 to demand that the city of Boston honors Indigenous Peoples Day and commits to not returning the Columbus statue to Boston's waterfront. Masks up, Columbus down!

Mayor Walsh and Boston City Council need to stop erasing Indigenous people in the city and need to step up to address these and other Indigenous issues. We are sick and tired of being ignored!
Organizers: United American Indians of New England (UAINE), North American Indian Center of Boston (NAICOB), IndigenousPeoplesDayMA.org

Endorsers (list in formation): Alliance for Water Justice in Palestine; Boston Stands with Black Lives; Cultural Survival; Haitkaah Social Justice Project; Italians for Indigenous Peoples Day; Mass Peace Action; MA Sierra Club; Unitarian Universalist Mass Action; Rev. Jacob Urena, Order of St. Martin de Porres; USWA Local 8751...

 

conf

 

October 3- November 22
Here it Began: 2020 Hindsight or Foresight--Indigenous History Conference
Register: http://ow.ly/7QSh50BDeuo
 

market
Saturday, October 10, 2020  12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Savor the Square " Indigenous Peoples Day Celebration"


Nubian Square, Boston, MA

In collaboration with the North American Indian Center of Boston, a cultural demonstration will also take place at Gourdin Park nearby.

 

 

wampanoag

SATURDAY OCTOBER 10, 2020    12 PM EDT – 2:30 PM EDT
Wampanoag Nation Singers and Dancers

Jeremiah Lee Mansion Marblehead, MA

Hosted by Indigenous Peoples Day MarbleheadMarblehead Museum and Marblehead Task Force Against Discrimination

More info
 

imAGE

MONDAY, OCTOBER 12, 2020 AT 1 PM – 3 PM CDT
Indigenous Peoples' Day 2020

Hosted by Natives at Harvard College
More info.

MONDAY, OCTOBER 12, 2020 AT 3:30 PM EDT
Indigenous Peoples Day 2020

UMASS BOSTON
More info.

 

newton

MONDAY, OCTOBER 12, 2020 AT 9 AM EDT – 9 PM EDT
Indigenous Peoples Day Celebration

Hosted by Indigenous Peoples Day Newton

More info.

 

img

MONDAY, OCTOBER 12, 2020 AT 11 AM EDT – 12 PM EDT
Indigenous Peoples Day Celebrations: Understanding the Red Road: Key Elements of Native American culture

More info. 


image

Monday, October 12, 2020 5:00 PM–6:00 PM
Indigenous Peoples’ Day

Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, MA
More info.

 

Nationwide Events

 


Saturday, October 10, 2020  3 pm EST / 2 pm CST / 1pm MST / 12 pm PST

Join NDN Collective and the The Movement for Black Lives
for a live webinar to discuss LANDBACK and Building a Movement for Collective Liberation.


image

SUNDAY, October 11, 2020 - 6pm Pacific / 8pm Central

More information. 


Image may contain: 7 people, closeup

Monday, October 12, 2020, 1:00 PM ET
Indigenous Peoples’ Day: Mascots, Monuments, and Memorialization

This Indigenous Peoples’ Day, hear from young Native activists who are propelling conversations forward to address the tension between history, memory and the current movements happening across America.

More info.

 

field
Monday, October 12, 2020 3:30PM - 4:15PM
We Are All on Native Land: A Conversation about Land Acknowledgments

Field Museum, Chicago IL
More info.

 

dine pride

Monday, October 12, 2020  5:30 PM (Mountain Time)
INDIGENOUS PEOPLE'S DAY: Diné Pride LGBTQ+ & Two- Spirit Roundtable
More info

 

frank wahln

Monday, October 12, 2020  7:00 PM CST
INDIGENOUS PEOPLES DAY

LIVESTREAM LINK & INFO
 

event
Monday, October 12, 2020  7:00 PM EST
Decolonizing the Classroom

Vermont Coalition for Equity in Education and by Black and Brown at Democracy Prep.

More info.

 

dawnland

MONDAY OCTOBER 12th   8pm ET / 7pm CT / 6pm MT / 5pm PT
INDIGENOUS PEOPLES' DAY 

Live online film screening of DAWNLAND and DEAR GEORGINA followed by a wonderful panel of special guests. 

Register here.


flyer

TUESDAY OCTOBER 13   6 PM EST/ 3 PM EST
Indigenous Peoples Rights & Resilience in Times of Crisis
Inspirations for Facing Our Common Future

Meeting link

Country
Issues

CSQ Disclaimer

Our website houses close to five decades of content and publishing. Any content older than 10 years is archival and Cultural Survival does not necessarily agree with the content and word choice today.